Hall of Distinction Honors Inaugural Class of Inductees

AAO-HNS/F announces first class of inductees into the newly created Hall of Distinction.

Carol R. Bradford, MD, MS
Carol R. Bradford, MD, MS

In addition to celebrating the 125th anniversary, this year the AAO-HNS/F will be celebrating a first — as in the first class of inductees into the newly created Hall of Distinction.

The genesis of the idea for the Hall started in 2016 with the inaugural “Legends of Otolaryngology” lecture presented by M. Eugene Tardy, MD.  The concept evolved to the current state, culminating in final approval from the Executive Committee of the Board of Directors at its June 2021 meeting. Two distinct sections were created: the Pioneer Class and the Current Class.

The 12 inductees will be recognized by AAO-HNS/F President Carol R. Bradford, MD, MS, at a special ceremony on Tuesday with a reception immediately following. The Pioneer inductees include William Harry Barnes, MD, John J. Conley, MD, Antonio De la Cruz, MD, Hal Lovelace Foster, MD, Chevalier Jackson, MD, and Helen F.  Krause, MD.

The Current Class members who will be inducted include: M. Jennifer Derebery, MD, K.J. Lee, MD, Eugene N. Myers , MD, FRCS Edin(Hon), James L. Netterville, MD, Gavin Setzen, MD, and Gayle E. Woodson, MD.

Al Merati, MD, Chair of the Awards Task Force and AAO-HNS/F Past President, said the Hall of Distinction is designed not just to recognize the powerful work and contribution each of the members has made, but to identify those who inspire the membership with their love for otolaryngology.

“I use the word ‘love’ with great care,” he said. “I believe this is what our members feel for their teachers, their history, their partners, and for their patients in the vast majority of situations. The frustrations faced by each of us has to do with structures and organizations and histories–all of which are important–but the deep joy and reward of each of our professional lives is what keeps us tuned in and carrying the flag.”

Following Tuesday’s induction will be a reception and a panel discussion featuring the attending inductees, titled “How Can the Past Inform the Future?” Dr. Bradford will be moderating that discussion and said she is looking forward to hearing what the panelists have to say.

“It will be really fun and interesting to learn from our distinguished panelists what they predict the future will hold for the profession of medicine, healthcare, the pandemic, wellbeing, meetings and, most importantly, for the future of otolaryngology,” she said. “History does repeat itself, but the future is very different from the past.”

AAO-HNS/F Executive Vice President and CEO James C. Denneny III, MD, said he, too, is looking forward to hearing what these “giants” have learned from their experiences.

“I look at this as a chance to hear from this select group of otolaryngologists and as an inspiration for current and future members of the specialty and organization,” he said. “The highlight, in my opinion, will be the reflection of these giants and how they think their experiences can help us moving forward.”

Visit the Annual Meeting & OTO Experience Meeting Daily for more articles.